Colorado is leading the fight to protect cyclists and their rights. Most cyclists across the USA have experienced the wrath of impatient motorists. Being “buzzed” by drivers who purposely pass sometimes within inches of riders and having trash thrown at them make up many cyclists’ post-ride tales. One state is taking action to help protect bicyclists from dangerous actions of drivers: Colorado. Governor Bill Ritter signed a bill protecting cyclists’ rights to the road into law on Monday. The rule becomes effective August 5.
The new law requires drivers to give cyclists at least three feet of clearance when passing. Violators risk a $110 fine. Throwing an object at a rider could constitute a class 2 misdemeanor, which could net a more substantial $250-$1100 fine and a possible jail sentence of 3-12 months.
Republican Senator Greg Brophy and Democratic Representative Mike Merrifield, both cycling enthusiasts, supported the measure.